About Our School
St. Joseph Catholic School is located at the corner of Locke Street South and Herkimer Street in the Krikendall North neighbourhood since 1921. At this time, St. Joseph School opened in the former St. James Presbyterian Church. The Sisters of the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Loretto Sisters) ran the school until 1958 when the Sisters of St. Joseph of Cluny arrived to replace them. All remnants of the old church were removed by this time, leaving us with the present school structure.
The school has had several additions beginning in 1951, 1958, 1963, 1965, 1969, and most recently in 2008 with a renovation including a new library, computer lab, two classrooms and air conditioning. St. Joseph School has a very large gymnasium with a balcony (used for our uniform exchanges), a conference room with Smart Board, a Language Resource Room, and spacious Junior and Senior Kindergarten classrooms.
Our Catholic School Council completed a site redevelopment project of our playground, the Green Tux Project. The goal of the project was to enhance the playground for our students – for play, fitness, socializing and learning. The joy of the children at play in our playground underscores the success of this project.
St. Joseph School offers a French Immersion program from Senior Kindergarten to Grade 8. It is a dual stream school, with a population of approximately 420 students. Our school draws students from the surrounding local area, central and west city below the mountain, Dundas, Ancaster, Waterdown, Carlisle, and Flamborough.
Our school community participates in many charitable fundraisers including the United Way, DREAMS, HWCDSB Annual Pilgrimage, and “Our Neighbours in Need” Christmas Hamper Programs. We have an active Social Justice Club. Our students actively participate in service projects within our school and greater school community.